EAPO Member States discussed the IP economy at the IP Eurasia/ IP India’23 plenary session.

Alexey Overchuk, Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation, noted in his welcome speech that “the cooperation with India in the IP field in the Eurasian space will contribute to the growth of the economies of the countries in the region and increase their investment attractiveness.”

Dmitry Volvach, Deputy Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation, focused on the integration projects in IP within the EAEU, including the signing of a free trade agreement with India. He also outlined the plans to approve by the end of the year the Declaration on the Development of Economic Processes within the EAEU up to 2030 and 2045. One of the key aspects of the Declaration is “cooperation of member states to create favorable conditions for the protection and effective enforcement of IP rights.”

Heads of IP Offices Yury Zubov (Rospatent), Mirzo Ismoilzoda (National Center for Patents and Information, Ministry of Economic Development and Trade, Republic of Tajikistan), Vladimir Ryabovolov (National Center of Intellectual Property, Republic of Belarus), Rakhat Kerimbayeva (State Agency of Intellectual Property and Innovation under the Cabinet of Ministers of the Kyrgyz Republic), Ata Annaniyazov (State Service for Intellectual Property of Ministry of Finance and Economy of Turkmenistan), as well as Sholpan Abdreeva, Director of the IP Rights Department of the Ministry of Justice of Kazakhstan, made reports on the on the development of national IP systems and the bilateral and multilateral development of cooperation with India. In particular, they highlighted initiatives within the BRICS, the Central Asia-India dialogue, and the prospects of cooperation within the Greater Eurasian Partnership.

Kamran Imanov, Chairman of the Board of the Intellectual Property Agency of the Republic of Azerbaijan, made a report on the economic aspects of the IP field as well as the correlation between the dynamics of filings and economic growth.

Eduard Shablin, President of the Assembly of Eurasian Patent Attorneys, and Alexandra Arakelova, Rector of RGAIS, also made statements at the plenary session.

Habip Asan, Director of WIPO’s Division for Transition and Developed Countries, and Lilia Gumerova, Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Science, Education and Culture, extended their greetings to the Conference participants.