Annual Report 2020


The EAPO focuses greatly on the development of the institution of Eurasian patent attorneys and interaction with patent attorneys of the EAPC Contracting States.

Fifteen patent attorneys from the Russian Federation (Moscow, St. Petersburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Saratov) and the Republic of Kazakhstan (Almaty) were certified and registered as Eurasian patent attorneys based on the results of certification test in 2020.

The new EAPO service, which provides the opportunity to take the certification test for Eurasian patent attorneys remotely, was extremely popular and received positive feedback during the two years that it was functioning.

Eleven patent attorneys took the certification test remotely, i.e. two from the Republic of Kazakhstan and nine from the Russian Federation, including Moscow, which happened for the first time due to the complex epidemiological situation caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The pool of 490 acting Eurasian patent attorneys comprises specialists of all the EAPC Contracting States.

The respective breakdown can be found in the following table

State Amount
Republic of Azerbaijan 5
Republic of Armenia 3
Republic of Belarus 26
Republic of Kazakhstan 21
Kyrgyz Republic 2
Russian Federation 427
Republic of Tajikistan 3
Turkmenistan 3

The Register of Eurasian Patent Attorneys, Eurasian patent attorney candidate evaluation procedure and certification test programme are available in the section “Patent Attorneys” of the web portal of the Eurasian Patent Organization